Am I a Real Canadian yet?

Hiya pals, hope you’re all well! Here’s a quick life update before we get to the good stuff.

  • Healthwise, it had really seemed like I’d reached the end of the road. After finishing my latest round of medication, I was feeling great and I had a whole four days of no pain which was a new record! PMA.
  • I. Am. Exhausted. Midterms are brutal.
  • I’m cutting my hair off tomorrow and, hopefully, donating it to make a wig for a child. I have always had a weird attachment to having long hair. I’m terrified. Stay tuned on Twitter to see how it goes!
  • People keep saying that I look really young for my age. It’s really strange. Oh well. If it’s true, I guess my baby face will serve me later in life! What do you reckon? Let me know if I need to add some grey highlights or something.

 

A few days ago, I wandered into my local Kind Exchange store. I’m a fairly avid bargain hunter and I’m always popping in with a bag of my old clothes and leaving with a bag of new ones. The girl behind the counter and I became friendly when we discovered that I did my first year of uni in her hometown, Cardiff. God bless those giveaway accents, helping me make friends for the last two years.

images copy

From our conversations over the summer, I started to notice more coincidences: we both love travel, have similar music tastes, we live within a few blocks ofeach other, and we both have lotus tattoos in the same place. The other day she told me that after three years abroad, she’s going home. I was enthusiastic and happy for her- I told her that I know how hard it is to be far from home, and that that was partly why I transferred to Glendon. She glanced at me, surprised. “So you think of Toronto as home, then?”.

Do I? Yes, I suppose I do. After all, this is where my family is, where I study, where I voted a few days ago. I’ve been a Canadian citizen since birth. These are the hallmarks of where we plant our roots, aren’t they?

The truth is, I find it very easy to make somewhere Home. I’ve lived in 12 houses, five cities and three countries. I’ve been the New Girl more times than I could count. I’m lucky that these experiences make me adaptable.

But do I really belong here? Is there some kind of initiation process? Am I supposed to dress entirely in plaid, chug a pint of maple syrup and fight a moose before I get my official certificate?

tumblr_mmtzvp3Am21r4uwh6o1_400

I’m pretty sure this is how an attempted moose-fight would go down.

 

I grew up in England. It will always be home. I will always go through life justifying my spending as “but in pounds it’s so cheap!” and I will probably never lose my accent. I will always love tea and I will always be a little bit awkward. But I grew up in a town where I was constantly asked where I was from- and the answer they expected was definitely not “I was born in London”. In Toronto, one of the most diverse cities in the world, I am able to be Trinidadian, I am able to be Northern Irish, I am accepted as English and most importantly, I can still be Torontonian. The beauty of this city is that it is a culmination of Elsewheres- every culture remains intact. Being from Toronto doesn’t erase wherever else you belong. 

imgres-1

(Especially Toronto)

Yes, I miss England sometimes. I miss being able to go to museums and art galleries for free, I miss the fashion, I miss the countryside, I miss the history, I miss my friends- I miss being slumped in an early morning lecture between Greg and Rachael, I miss weekend escapes to Jen, Joy, and Kelsey, I miss being in the physical company of people who know me well and love me anyway. I miss being funny- believe it or not, people understand my cultural references there.

Coming to Glendon has definitely tipped the scales in Toronto’s favour. For the first time, I live here with a degree of permanence. Living here with no plans to leave is a very new experience. And strangely enough, it’s a good one. I love living somewhere where I can get any kind of food at any time of day or night, I love that Canadians really are the nicest kind of people you can find, and I love studying in the prettiest, friendliest campus in the city.

I may be English- and proudly so- but somehow Toronto has become home. I’m not going to question a good thing. You know what they say, two homes are better than one!
images

Leave a Reply

